Focus on the Orders

Continuing on my night devotions., you may have read in my previous blog that I’m currently meditating on 2 Timothy. 

Here’s what I read and meditated in my last devotion. 

 This is a beautiful passage.

2 Timothy 2:4 (NIV) “No one serving as a soldier gets entangled in civilian affairs, but rather tries to please his commanding officer.”

(MSG) “A soldier on duty doesn’t get caught up in making deals at the marketplace. He concentrates on carrying out orders.”

Paul continues his exhortation to Timothy in chapter 2. Paul outlines a very important code of conduct for those who are in full-time ministry.

To set the context of this verse. In the previous verse, verse 3, Paul gives out an invitation for suffering as a good solider, v.3 “Join with me in suffering, like a good soldier of Christ Jesus”. He introduces the word “Soldier” and talks about the behavior of a “Soldier” in the next verse.

My focus is going to be on Verse 4,

The Life of soldier is this,

A Soldier is focused on the commanding officer and on the orders he gives and not petty things.

For those of us who are called to be in full time ministry, we should be focused on receiving orders from God and carrying them out. We should not be caught up in our day-to-day petty affairs but rather stay focused accomplishing the tasks God gives us. This doesn’t mean that anyone in the ministry should not worry about family affairs; spouse, children or anyone. He should care about them, feed, guide and help sort out problems. But we should not be entangled in such affairs every day that we lose the ability to hear God’s voice and his commands.

Let’s examine ourselves.

I am in full-time ministry. I should constantly check myself whether I am carrying out orders that God gives me.

A greatest and dangerous reminder is In Mathew 7:21. It says, “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 

To complete what God has given us, we should focus on him every day. That’s all matters. When we focus on him he will take care of every other area of our life.

 

Leave a Reply

