I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength, 

that he considered me trustworthy, appointing me to his service.

1 Timothy 1:12

 

As I was reading through 1st Timothy chapter 1, this verse struck my heart deeply, so I decided to write a blog on this verse reflecting on how God has made me what I am today.

If I look back at my life — things that I’ve been through. I often think. I don’t deserve this life. My sins deserved punishment. I deserved death but I stand forgiven, reconciled only by the grace of God and through the blood of Jesus Christ.

One of my favorite verses is this,

Psalm 18:35 – You have stooped down to make me great. – (NCV)

It is a verse that so powerfully speaks about the greatness of God. The truth is this; I did not go to God but He came to me.

I’m sure all of us can relate to this. The truth at the end of the day is this, We are all saved by Grace and grace alone.

When Paul writes this letter to timothy, who was a true son to him in the faith, he wrote this with a goal to motivate him to play the role of a strong leader to set things right at the church in Ephesus. And as part of that, he writes about his own life: his past life and present life.

Growing up, as a kid I was less useful compared to my brother. I didn’t participate much in any activities. I was moody, short-tempered and always lost in thoughts. I didn’t do well at sports. (Something everyone expected from me as a kid) nor at any activities. I hardly won any awards, medals. I mostly won consolation prizes😀.  I was an introvert. I had a very limited group of friends.

And that’s how people saw me too….that I am introvert, doesn’t mingle much with anyone, hardly involves in anything…and is very moody.

But God saw something different in me. He saw with the purpose that I was created for… He began working in my life. He worked his way through even before I fully understood that He was working. He made me into someone that people would look up to. I got saved during my third year at bible college. God radically changed my life. I remember, one day, early morning when I praying, God spoke to me saying, “I have made you as a Prophet to the nations and you will carry my word to the nations” I said God, I stammer when I speak. How am I to be one like that. I said that because I would always stammer when I get on stage to preach. I loved preaching but this always came in the way of preaching. God spoke to me saying, “I will now touch your lips just as I touched Isaiah’s lips (Isaiah 6:5) and you will carry my word to the nations” It was an altogether a different experience…something hard to describe in words. From then on, I stopped stammering and slowly began to speak the word of God with boldness. This happened in the year 2011, almost five years ago.

I look back at life now. I can say what Paul says, “I am thankful to God who has given me strength, and considered me trustworthy, appointing me to his service.” (Paraphrased)

I am 24 years old now and am happily serving God in full-time ministry.

I am sure that you might even have a story like this. I would love to hear what God has done in your life. You can type them in the comments section below or leave a link in the comments if you have written any blogs similar to this. I will put all those stories together in my next blog.

There is power in hearing testimonies and mutually encouraging each other.

In closing,

I am going to conclude with this word of praise to God that Paul wrote (1:17) in this letter.

Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.

I am eagerly waiting to hear what God has done in your life.

 

Josh

 

One thought on “Grateful for what I am today

Leave a Reply

